Cheat Weekend and Vanier Blues

So this weekend officially marks the end of my 30 day challenge, and of course it happens to end off with Mac not winning the Vanier cup…what a way to end a challenge. So logically because it was the end of the challenge I ate and drank the things that I’m not supposed to, including but not limited to beer, chicken schnitzel and eggs benedict. Well I’m hear to tell you now, after a day and a half of consuming gluten again, I feel like garbage. I’m not in a huge amount of pain or anything, although my stomach does hurt a bit, but I honestly just feel gross. My head feels kinda cloudy, I haven’t got much energy, feeling pretty sluggish. But this week is back to being healthy again, I just picked up a bunch of groceries on the way back from Toronto and I figured I would share some of the things that I’m making tonight. Nothing overly fancy or anything, but its all pretty tasty so far:

-Maple roasted brussel sprouts and parsnips

-Pesto spaghetti squash with roast chicken and sauteed vegetables.

The first recipe is super easy:

-Preheat oven to 350

-Quarter brussel sprouts and peel/chop parsnips

-Toss with olive oil, S&P, minced garlic and and 2 teaspoons maple syrup (you can add more if you like)

-Roast on a baking sheet for 30 minutes or until sprouts and parsnips start to brown a bit

-Be amazed at how you could ever not like brussel sprouts because these taste so good.

Second recipe:

-Preheat oven to 350

-Halve squash, clean the inside and roast cut side down for approx. 30 minutes depending on size

-At the same time season a chicken breast with S&P and bake for 30 minutes.

-Sautee chopped onions and mushrooms until softened.

-Toss in some cooked chopped bacon

-Add in chopped kale, cook till wilted

-Shred spaghetti squash and toss with pesto

-Slice chicken breast and serve with vegetables over squash.

Now I mention tossing in cooked bacon only because I have cooked bacon on hand. I’ve been working on reseasoning my cast iron frying pans and one of the best (and tastiest) ways of doing that is by making large batches of bacon. So I currently have a weeks worth of cooked bacon in the fridge, its great.

In other news, I reached my first term weight goal for squats last week. My goal was to be able to do 3 reps at 225 lbs and I did 6 reps on Thursday. Hoping to improve on that before I go home for the holidays. I also spent a bunch of time on Friday coming up with Crossfit workouts to do over the holidays seeing as I won’t have a gym to go to. I even scaled them all so that Meghan can do them with me (shh don’t tell her though).

Leave a Reply

