Bananas are The Devil & Chocolate Mug Cake (Paleo..Obviously)

Today was intersting…we’ll talk more about that in a minute. As Pearce pointed out in the last post there are a lot of pluses that we are each noticing about the way we feel and look while eating Paleo. I’m going to keep it short, but feel I have more mental clarity, I’m having less up and downs in terms of my mood and I’m also feel really good in my body.

That being said, my body and I didn’t get along today. I haven’t eaten a banana in over 10 years and like any allergy/intolerance I assumed I would eventually grow out of it. I did not. So I spent a little over 6 hours wanting to curl up into the fetal position because my stomach hurt so much. Not to worry though, because I’m feeling better (thank you Benadryl!) AND I made this awesome mug cake…I was craving chocolate.

This cake is loosely adapted from OMG Paleo: http://paleomg.com/paleo-chocolate-cake-in-a-mug/. The version I’d made is a little more brownie tasting, but still has a cake-y texture. This will definitely be my go to for a chocolate fix.

For those of you who don’t know I’m currently directing a play, so my last 2 weeks of paleo are going to be a little boring on the recipe side, but I’ll try and keep the reading interesting and if nothing else I’ll just make more cake mugs!

Mug Cake!

  • 2 teaspoons Coconut flour (plus 2 extra dashes, I didn’t measure…sorry!
  • 2 tablespoons cocoa powder
  • 2 tablespoons dark chocolate almond milk
  • 1 tablespoon oil
  • 2 tablespoons honey
  • 1 teaspoon (heaping) sunflower butter (I’m sure any nut butter would work)
  • 1 egg
  • ½ teaspoon vanilla
  • salt
  • dash of cinnamon
  1. Put all ingredients into mug
  2. Stir together and add coconut flour until you get the desired consistency (a touch thicker than pancake batter is what you’re after)
  3. Place in microwave for 2 minutes (mine only took about 1:40 sec)
  4. EAT IT! NOM NOM NOM

Image

Have a happy Tuesday everyone!

Leave a Reply

