What its All About

So I’m coming up on 3 weeks out of the 4 week challenge, Meg I believe is coming up on 2 weeks, so I figured maybe its time to start talking about some of the benefits that we’ve started to notice since being on the diet. Its certainly been a topic of discussion between the two of us, but we haven’t really talked about it all here, which is really what this blog is supposed to be about.

First things first: My mood and energy levels. Now its quite possible that my mood has been better because I have more energy, or I have more energy because my mood has been better but either way there has been a definite improvement in both. I’ve been sleeping better, its easier for me to get up in the morning, I don’t feel like passing out in class and I can workout and play badminton in the same day without feeling like I want to die. I have to say that this is definitely the biggest change I’ve noticed so far and I LOVE it.

Second: My focus and concentration. Both of these have shown an improvement as well. I’m finding it much easier to pay attention in class and I’m finding it easier to absorb information when I’m studying. My classes tend to be a little on the dry side so this has been a welcome change. I’ve also noticed a difference in my badminton game. Now part of that is definitely due to the mental training that I was working on in the summer, but I think part of the concentration portion is thanks to the diet.

Lastly: How I feel. Now I know that this is kind of a difficult one to measure, because I thought I felt pretty good before, but I seriously feel fantastic. I’m not entirely sure how to describe it but maybe its just all of the things that I mentioned all rolled into one. I’ve been gaining more muscle than before, I’ve been managing to keep the weight on (I’m pretty sure at least, I don’t own a scale so I just kinda go on how I look in the mirror), I look better (I am allowed to have some vanity), and I can do more of the activities that I love (like powerlifting and playing badminton) without feeling like I want to die the next day.

So those are some of the biggest things that I’ve noticed so far. I gotta say that those changes absolutely outweigh the things that I can’t eat anymore. I’ll most likely be continuing this eating pattern as my normal diet after the month is over. I will however not maintain it quite as strictly as I have been during this month. Obviously I wanted to go strictly paleo just to see what all of the fuss is about, and I definitely see it now. There are certainly things that I’m starting to miss a bit, foremost being Ben & Jerry’s ice cream and pumpkin spice lattes from Starbucks. Everyone gets to indulge sometimes, its only when you indulge all the time that there’s a problem.

Leave a Reply

