Tournament Weekend

So yesterday was the Ryerson Invitational badminton tournament, the first tournament of the season for the varsity team. The team made an excellent showing and I was especially impressed with the rookies. I was also fairly impressed with how I played, not to sound egotistical or anything but that’s basically the best tournament showing that I’ve had in a while, and it only gets better from here.

However, the coaching and the playing weren’t my only concerns for the weekend…I had to figure out what I was going to eat for the day. The tournament started at 9 and ended at 8, freaking long day of badminton lol. Now I’ve been competing in badminton tournaments for a very long time so normally figuring out things to eat isn’t an issue. It usually comprises of bananas, apples, protein bars, sandwiches and granola. In case you didn’t know, on the paleo diet those last three things aren’t allowed, so I had to supplement something else. I made a feast: spice rubbed roasted chicken breast, curry masala sweet potato fries, chili lime sweet potato fries, pumpkin nut bars (recipe to follow) and turkey meatloaf. I think that was the best food I’ve ever eaten at a tournament.

So now I’m sitting recovering from the tournament yesterday, my body is rather sore. I haven’t played that hard for that long in quite a while. But its at least nice to know that my de-load week paid off. I didn’t do any lifting at all last week so that I could make sure that my body was in peak shape to compete. Apparently it worked. But now that we don’t have another tournament till February I can go back into off season training mode. Heavy weight, gym 4 times a week, so excited!! That de-load week was driving me nuts, seriously.

Now I’m following in Meghan’s footsteps and giving spaghetti squash a try. I’m making spaghetti (squash) and meat balls with homemade meatballs and homemade marinara. Should be good. I’m also going to try and move as little as possible for the rest of the day lol, oie my legs hurt.

Here’s the recipe for the pumpkin bars that I talked about before: http://www.theroastedroot.net/gluten-free-pumpkin-squares/#more-569

Just sub the brown sugar for 1/2 cup of honey and you’re good to go. These were seriously tasty, I added a cup of chopped nuts and some coconut just for some added protein for the tournament but they’d be awesome plain as well.

1 comment
  1. Tegan said:

    I’ve heard of some people shredding zucchini and using it as pasta… spaghetti squash made the think of it 😀 just in case you want to try it. But they usually have some special tool to make it all stringy

Leave a Reply

