Halloween, Squash and Jambalaya

So, I’ll admit it…I shirked on the no sugar before November 1st. Mainly because Halloween came around and all my lovely friends made things like cupcakes, rice crispie squares and brownies. I came to the conclusion that on my last night I might as well load up before not getting any sugar for a month..so I ate it all! I felt so sick, but it was worth it haha.

For the record, we started Wednesday and I’ve been sugar free since, scouts honour! Moving on! I did recently discover spaghetti squash and boy am I glad. That squash is the most delicious of them all, I think at least. I had never made spaghetti squash so on my second go I took some photos to share with you all how to do it. It honestly has such a light taste you can trick yourself into thinking you’re eating pasta and as an added bonus it is WAY better for you. So here, in NUMBER OF STEPS is how you make spaghetti squash.
1. Buy squash…this is what a spaghetti squash looks like…also preheat oven to 375 degrees:

2. Cut squash in half. Now if you’re like me, be very careful. These babies can get away on you, but eventually you’ll have this:

3. Note all the seeds and gunk? Yeah, you need to scrape that out. Don’t get too carried away though, you want some squash left over once you’re done:

4. Add a little oil to the squash so they won’t stick to the pan.

5. Place squash cut side down on a cookie sheet, put in oven.

6. Wait about 30 minutes (or until you can stick a fork through the squash)

7. Take out squash, let cool and shred into spaghetti!

Now you have delicious spaghetti! Nom nom nom.

 
On another note, I made this Jambalaya today from OMGpaleo and I adore it. It’s so tasty and the riced cauliflower really adds a nice texture. Here is the link: http://paleomg.com/jambalaya/

I’m still surviving, the dark chocolate almond milk is really helping 😛

Hope everyone had an awesome Halloween!

Leave a Reply

