Preamble

So Meghan and I have decided to do a Paleo diet challenge. For those of you who don’t know what the paleo diet is, I’ll do a brief explanation of it so you can get the basic idea.

Essentially the paleo diet is designed around eating things that our paleolithic ancestors would have eaten. What that means is a diet rich in fruits and vegetables, lean meats and not much else. That means no grains, no dairy products, no refined sugars and no legumes (peanuts, beans and the like). All other nuts are good though. The food can be cooked in any manner, it doesn’t need to be raw or anything stupid like that, but you’re supposed to avoid any type of seed oils. I basically just stick to olive oil and coconut oil. Supposedly this diet is supposed to give you more energy and generally make you feel healthier because our bodies have apparently not adapted well to digesting things like gluten and lactose which is why there is an increase in people worldwide with either gluten or lactose intolerances.

We have decided to try this diet for 30 days starting November 1st. This blog is where we will be posting things like grocery lists, recipes and comments about our moods and energy levels while being on the diet. I will be taking one day off during that 30 day period because I’ll be at the Vanier Cup and beer is required, other than that I’ll be following the diet as best I can.

The diet does say that the meats you eat should be free-range, grass fed blah blah meat, but given that I’m a student and that shit is expensive, I’ll forgo that part and eat meats that I can get at the market or grocery.

 
Lastly, I am neither approving nor denying the benefits of this diet at this time, that’s kinda what this challenge is all about. I know what my energy levels and athletic abilities were like before I started the diet and am using those as the base line to compare my energy levels and such at the end of November to. I’m not doing this diet for weight loss or anything like that, after all I am a skinny ass white guy, I’m basically just trying it out to see what it does for me.

Leave a Reply

